Term 1 reflection

This is a blog post of my experience of year 5 term 1. It has gone really fast but I have had a great time and here are some of those:

Highlights:

One of the biggest highlight for probably everyone has been APS. This is our first year doing it because we start it in year 5. We have been doing swimming, biking and rock climbing getting prepared for our swim, bike, run triathlon. In rock climbing I had to use a lot of courage because it pushed me way out of my comfort zone. I tried a lot of very difficult rock climbing walls that I had never done before. When you have pushed through or zoomed through the climbing part and you get to the top the sense of accomplishment feels amazing but then you have to come down which eventually I got used to and really enjoyed bouncing down the walls. In swimming I had to use lots of resilience because my group had to do 12 laps! We had a choice of what stroke we did but I did 9 laps freestyle and 3 very relaxing laps of breaststroke. This was a challenge and at the end I was very tired but it was still very fun. Now for biking, probably my favourite because I really enjoy going through trees, in big groups and on big jumps. I hadn’t ridden a bike for quite a while before this but I really enjoy it now. 

Maths. This year we continued maths extension which was really fun. One of the tasks that we had to do was to get these coloured blocks about 27 and put them into a 3x3x3 cube that has no of the same colours on either side so there can’t be two blues on one face or two or more reds on one face. This sounds easy and I thought this too but when you try it it becomes extremely challenging. I had to use lots of persistence to overcome my stress of about an hour of trying but then I got it! I won’t tell you the answer so that maybe you can try. That was only maths extension but in class maths It has been very fun. I have really enjoyed learning how to multiply and divide fractions. I am also very excited because we are starting to learn some Pi in maths to calculate the area of a circle. Impressive right?

New class and teacher. This year I am in 5B and my teacher is mr Benwell. I also have a new class of 26 people. Mr. Benwell is a really great teacher because he explains things very clearly and that makes it easy to understand the task that we are going to be doing. He is also a really good teacher because he makes there like 1.5+ hours of maths a day! Mr. Benwell is also an AFL goal umpire. In my new class we have 10 new kids and 16 previous kids from the school. In total there are actually 39 or 40 new kids in the 104 kids in year 5. It has been really nice to get back playing with my previous friends and make lots of new ones. 

What I have learnt:

What I have learnt this term includes a lot of the positive learners attribute out resilience. This is seek discomfort. What this means is push your self out of your comfort zone even if you don’t like it. One of the times that I did this was in the triathlon. I tried my absolute best and ran, swam and rid my bike as fast as possible and by the end I was very tired and a bit sore but I recovered and I was fine after. In the end I got a great result (in my opinion) and was very happy. Everyone can take the easy ways and just go slow and not use much energy (in this situation) but you should always push yourself to your fullest potential.

Goals:

For next term some of goals are to be very confident in Chinese by playing a lot of education perfect. Finish my hunger games book or books and if we do maths Olympiad I want to get about 3 or 4 each time.

I hope you have enjoyed this blog post and have learnt a bit more about my first term in year 5.

Was there a time that you ‘seeked discomfort’? Tell me when.

One thought on “Term 1 reflection”

  1. Hi Patrick,

    Thanks for writing that blog post about your first term in Year 5. I enjoyed reading about your studies and your new teacher. You are lucky to be going to such a good school and to be studying so many interesting subjects.

    Keep writing your excellent posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *